Figuring Out If You need Non-Owner Auto Insurance In Tulsa, Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, as in every state across the US, car insurance plays a major role after any traffic accident. Oklahoma law requires vehicle owners and any drivers to possess auto insurance liability. That means that even if you don’t own a car, you might need auto insurance. Auto insurance in Tulsa can be expensive and one thing people don't realize is that in many situations non-owners insurance is actually cheaper than a regular auto insurance policy. Here are some tips to help you figure out if you need a non-owner policy.
Tip: Oklahoma is an “at fault” state for auto accidents. That means blame is assigned for each accident and if you are found at fault then the damages are on you. It does not matter if you own the car you were driving or not.
Who Needs A Non-Owner Policy?
Do you plan to drive a car in the near future? If the answer is yes, then you need auto insurance, even if you don’t own a car yourself. Driving a rented or borrowed car is no different than driving your own in the eyes of the law, especially if you cause an accident.
Can’t think of a reason a person who doesn’t own a car might be driving? Here are a few common examples:
1. You Rent Cars for work or travel
2. You Borrow Cars From Friends Or Family
3. You Use A Car-Sharing Service
4. You Drive A Company Car For Work
5. You’re Without A Car Temporarily And Need To Maintain Insurance
6. You’re Required By The Court To Take Out SR22 Insurance Due To Loss Of License
Who Doesn’t Need A Non-Owner Policy?
People that do not intend to drive or have no driver’s license do not need non-owners insurance. Mainly, people that do drive that do not need a non-owner policy are typically children who drive their parent’s car. Parents will have ample coverage that includes children member’s driving the family car.
How To Get Non-Owner Auto Insurance In Tulsa
The average non-owner policy in Oklahoma is only $320 a year. It’s a small price to pay to stay legal and protect yourself from liability. Major car insurance companies that offer this type of policy are Geico, State Farm, Nationwide, and The General. Talk to your trusted insurance broker to compare local plans and find the best deal for your situation. Getting a non-owner insurance policy is easy and all you need is a payment method and your driver’s license. If you don’t have a driver’s license you cannot sign up for a policy, nor should you be driving. So the requirements are pretty basic.
A non-owner auto insurance policy might seem like an extra cost you don’t want to deal with but you may need it to be safe. If you get pulled over or cause an accident in Tulsa, Oklahoma without the minimum liability car insurance then you will be subject to a fine of $250 and/or 30 days in jail. It’s better to play it safe than sorry if you plan to drive a car at all.
Remember that the key to lower car insurance rates is to keep your insurance active for at least six months or more. Many automobile insurance companies offer discounts for a six month continuous non-owners policy to apply when you become an owner of a vehicle. This can help find you cheaper auto insurance.