Simplifying Car Insurance Requirements and Premiums In Fort Worth, TX
If you are a new driver or a new resident of the Forth Worth, TX area, then you might be wondering what type of car insurance is required by law to obtain your license and how you can get the cheapest premiums possible. The average yearly auto insurance premiums in TX are slightly higher than that national average with the national average being $889 and the average in TX being $934. However, there are ways to lower your premiums.
First of all, if money is an issue, you just need to know the bare minimum insurance standards required by law. In Fort Worth, and in all of Texas, there is the 30/60/25 law. It breaks down like this, you must carry:
$30,000 bodily injury liability per person
$60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
It is important to note that liability coverage means that only the other party receives compensation when you are in an accident. If you cause an accident and there is damage to your car or medical costs for personal injury you will not receive any benefits and must pay your own hospital expenses and car repairs out of pocket.
If you have a newer car, cannot risk being left without a car or with high medical debt, and can afford a higher yearly premium then you might want to consider adding on full coverage for accidents or other property damage such as theft or weather related damage. It is not required by law however, so if you need to save money you are free to opt for liability coverage only.
Once you have obtained your minimum liability car insurance you can apply for a license, renew or transfer a license as needed. Once you are insured and licensed you can drive around North Central Texas and enjoy the cool must-see attractions like the Cowgirl Museum or the Stockyards!