How to Get Your Vehicle Registered in Kansas
If you want to be a part of the traffic in Kansas, and you have just purchased your vehicle, one of the first things that you need to think about is getting it insured and getting it registered. Both are mandatory for participating in Kansas’ traffic and failing to adhere to these is going to result in significant fines and charges. There are important regulations which are governing this process. You need to do this in person, and you would need to bring the title of the car, your driver’s license, proof of insurance as well as the registration application and the proof of payment of the registration fee. There are also stringent regulations which are going to be applied if the vehicle was purchased out of the state and as such it might be subjected to inspection and obtain a special examination certificate.
Register a Car in Kansas
If you want to properly register your car in Kansas, you have to do so 60 days after you’ve purchased it. If you purchase a new or used car from a dealership, the dealer has to provide you with the registration documents. However, if you buy it from a private party, you would have to go ahead and pay the county treasurer’s office and bring along:
- Your proof of Kansas State auto insurance
- Title or specific Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin
- If you’ve purchased the vehicle out of the state, you would need to provide the authorities with the aforementioned certificate of examination.
- Bill of sale or a tax receipt
- Title and registration manual application which is fully completed
- Proof of payment of the registration fees is also absolutely necessary
Furthermore, you would also have to be aware of the fact that your car registration certificate is going to be valid for 1-year unless you are registering a new vehicle. In this case, the registration certificate is valid from the time of the purchase to the time you requested the renewal.
In any case, adhering to those regulations is detrimental if you want to have a peace of mind and be a regular and legal part of the traffic. Failing to do so could get you stripped off of your driver’s license, and your car could be confiscated. Of course, these are the worst cases scenarios, but you have to be aware that the responsibility is pretty stringent when it comes down to it.
If you need car insurance in order to get your car registered with the state of Kansas you can go here to get a free quote as we write auto insurance throughout the entire state of Kansas.
We have two local offices : Overland Park and Wichita
Read our blog about car insurance in Kansas here
Looking for Affordable Car Insurance in Kansas?
The post How to Get Your Vehicle Registered in Kansas appeared first on Cheapest Auto Insurance - Oklahoma, Texas, Missouri, Kansas, and Arkansas.