How to Get Your Car Tagged in Little Rock: Vehicle Registration in Arkansas
Whether you are a new resident in Little Rock, Arkansas or you, have purchased a new vehicle, one of the first things that you should be concerned about would be the registration of your car and getting a license plate. It should be registered through the Office of Motor Vehicle (OMV). You only have thirty days upon moving to Little Rock or purchase of a new vehicle. To know more about how to get your car tagged in Little Rock Arkansas, keep on reading and we will guide you through the steps that are necessary.
Before You Start
Prior to the registration process, there are certain things that should be done. For instance, for those who have just moved to Little Rock, it is critical to purchase an auto insurance that satisfies the minimum requirements of the state. Your out-of-state title must also be transferred to an Arkansas title. The latter can be done simultaneously to the registration of your car. Whether you are a new resident or a new car owner, when it comes to getting your car tagged, it is important to prepare all of the documents that you will need to speed up the process.
Here’s How You Can Do It
You must keep in mind that there is a need to make a personal appearance at any AR OMV office. When you visit, you should also bring with you the essential documents, including the following:
- Proof that you are the legitimate owner of the car that is being registered, such as Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or the Vehicle Title
- Lien agreement that is signed, if the car you are using a financed or leased car
- Signed copy of Form 10-381 or the Vehicle Registration Application form
- Odometer disclosure statement or State of Arkansas Vehicle Bill of Sale Odometer Disclosure Statement Form, also known as Form 10-313
- Proof of Vehicle Identification Number
- Proof of payment of personal property taxes
- Proof of auto insurance that satisfies minimum state requirements
Payment for Car Registration
For people needed to get their car tagged in Little Rock Arkansas, another thing that you should be aware of would be the associated fees. The OMV uses a variety of factors to determine how much should be paid for the registration of the car. These factors include type of the vehicle, gross weight, title fees, type of license plate, and city and country taxes. A validation decal fee will also be paid.
As it has been noted earlier, you only have 30 days upon moving to Arkansas or purchasing a new vehicle to process its registration. Otherwise, there are penalties that should be paid upon registration. An additional $3 will be incurred for every 10-day delay. On the other hand, for the late payment of sales tax, you will need to pay 10% of the amount that is owed.
Types of License Plates
Knowing how to get your car tagged in Little Rock also entails the need to be familiar with the different types of license plates that are available. Most will register for the regular series license plates, while there are also specialty plates that are available. You can apply for historic and custom specialty plates, military plates, and special interest plates, such as for charities, school, and professional organizations. Many specialty license plates, however, will require additional payments from the standard fees.
Getting Your Insurance
As it has been earlier mentioned, prior to the vehicle registration, you must have your car insured. In this case, more than just knowing how to get your car tagged in Little Rock Arkansas, you should also know how to find the right insurance. Think about your budget, the minimum state requirements, and the coverage that you need. Go online to do your research and ask around from family and friends in Little Rock to know which the best insurer is. Among others, Cheapest Auto Insurance is one option that you will definitely not regret. With more than three decades of experience in the industry, you can be confident that they will be able to provide comprehensive insurance that you need prior to the registration of your car.
The post How to Get Your Car Tagged in Little Rock appeared first on Cheapest Auto Insurance - Oklahoma, Texas, Missouri, Kansas, and Arkansas.