The state law of Missouri is requiring ever owners of vehicle to register it with the Department of Revenue before they will be allowed to drive it off the road. Any type of vehicle regardless on their manner of acquisition should be registered. Moreover, those who have registered their motor vehicle on a separate state should register again on Missouri. The first registration requires a personal appearance of the owner and the subsequent application such as the renewal can be initiated online or through mail which makes it more convenient. In the event that you acquired a vehicle as a present, you are instructed to schedule it for registration 30 days prior to the date of possession. The newly transferred residents are also restricted to that time-frame. Remember to take your car insurance with you during your appointment with the Department of Revenue.
Steps on How to Get Your Car Registered in Missouri
In case that you are registering the vehicle for the first time, here is a list of the documents which include the certification of car insurance that you need to secure.
- MSO (Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin) or the Lien Release which is signed under your name.
- A complete registration form
- Lien release-notarized
- ODS or Odometer Disclosure Statement (not required if the data can be found in the title information)
- A proof that all property tax charges have been settled
- You also need to show a proof that your vehicle is duly inspected unless in the event that it is exempted. The inspection should be conducted at an inspection location and/or conducted by an authorized inspector that was licensed by the Department of Revenue in Missouri.
- For those who reside in the county of Jefferson, Franklin, St. Charles and St. Louis, the Department of revenue may require you to undergo an emission test. After successfully passing the inspection, you will be awarded with the certificate that you can present during your registration.
- You need to provide a proof of your latest car insurance
- In case that you acquired the vehicle in another state, you are required to bring the authentic title or the registration document whatever is applicable along with the certification that guarantees that sales tax have been settled.
It is also possible to get a temporary car registration that is valid within 30 days. This is only valid for the new car or vehicle that has no plate number. The temporary permit can be secured at the licensing office of Missouri and also from the authorized car dealer where you purchase the car. When acquiring the temporary registration, you need to present the Title or the Bill of sale, safety inspection which is no more than 60 days old, proof of car insurance and payment for the temporary permit and processing fee.
The post How to Get Your Car Registered in Missouri appeared first on Cheapest Auto Insurance - Oklahoma, Texas, Missouri, Kansas, and Arkansas.