Getting SR22 Insurance In Dallas, Texas
Everyone needs auto insurance to drive, at least liability if nothing more. If you’ve committed a serious traffic violation in Dallas, such as drunk driving, then you might be required by law to obtain SR-22 auto insurance. This means you need a SR-22 form, showing proof that you have an auto insurance policy that complies with Texas’s liability insurance requirements. If you don’t have this then you cannot reinstate your license after it’s been lost. Even if you don’t own your own car, this could still be a requirement for getting your suspended license back in order.
The SR-22 form gets filed with the state and serves as your proof of coverage. Your insurance policy will have to include at a minimum:
$30,000 of bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident
$60,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
$25,000 of property damage coverage per accident
If your insurance lapses, meaning you don’t pay it, while your license is suspended then that lapse gets reported to the state. This can complicate matters and extend the period of time your license is suspended. You’ll also get sacked with additional fees and penalties. Once you get your license back and the SR-22 is no longer needed you can cancel it with your provider. You’ll want to cancel only the SR-22 form and not your insurance through or you can’t drive. In order to drive legally you need minimum liability auto insurance coverage at all times.
In a few states, such as Texas, you might be required to obtain SR-22A insurance. The main difference is that you have to pay for this one 6 months in advance. People with lower credit scores and different financial situations might be required to get this additional protection in their coverage to make sure there is no lapse in coverage for a specific amount of time. This could be an important step in reinstating your driver’s license.
Is SR-22 Insurance Affordable?
SR-22 insurance does cost more than other auto policies, and there may be a filing fee for the SR-22 form between $15 and $50. What can cause an increase in rates is whatever violation you were charged with. Getting a DUI can significantly raise your insurance rates or prevent you from being able to get a normal policy at all. Sometimes you’ll have to seek coverage with a high-risk insurance company. To get cheaper rates always make sure to compare prices and different companies. Each company values risk differently and you’ll be surprised at the differences in price. If you aren’t good at side-by-side comparison you can contact an auto insurance broker to help you find the best plan available to you. Don’t assume all companies will have the same premiums. Ask about any discounts you might be eligible for to decrease our rates or take out a high deductible plan to lower your monthly premiums.