Essential Automotive Licensing Tips For Oklahoma City Residents
Oklahoma City, state capital of The Sooner State, is a large metropolitan area. With many high quality restaurants, exciting annual events and family friendly attractions like the Wheelers Ferris Wheel and the National Cowboy Museum, OKC is a fantastic place to live and work. If you are relocating to OKC or are getting ready to insure a new driver, here are some tips that might interest you about auto insurance requirements and laws.
The first thing you should know, is that like most states, Oklahoma requires basic liability auto insurance in order to obtain a license or drive a vehicle. Failure to obtain and carry proof of auto insurance can land you in a heap of legal trouble. First offenders get a $250 fine and have to pay an additional $275 to reinstate their license. Additional offences can result in steeper fines, a suspended license and up to 30 days of jail time. So it is very important that you meet with your local auto insurance provider immediately.
In addition to these legal penalties, uninsured motorists that cause an accident can, under Oklahoma law, be held personally liable for physical damages, medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering of any injured parties. To obey the law and protect yourself from exorbitant legal fees you need to carry at least the minimum liability insurance.
In the state of Oklahoma, the minimum vehicle liability coverage is as follows:
$25,000 bodily injury liability per person, per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
(All auto insurers must all offer you $25,000 / $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage but you have the ability to reject this additional coverage.)
The premiums for minimum coverage auto insurance will vary by zip code, age, type of car, personal versus business use, gender, marital status and past credit history. As you can see, Oklahoma City auto insurance companies can use a lot of variables to come up with your premiums so it is best to shop around for the cheapest insurance deal you can find. If you have a newer car you may also want to consider getting comprehensive or collision insurance that would pay for your own medical costs or property damages in the event you cause an accident. If you carry only the minimum liability insurance then your personal expenses are not covered.
If you'd like a quote give us a call at 1-800-790-5752!