Having car insurance is fundamental since it covers your costs in case of vehicle harm/accident or wounds to different drivers, travelers or people on foot. All drivers must be guaranteed against their risk to other individuals, as stipulated in the Road Traffic Act 1988.
Within this article, we will be talking about procedure, rules and regulations regarding insurance in Oklahoma. Different states have their
different rules and regulations regarding their traffic rules and insurance of cars so similar is the case with Oklahoma.
All drivers in the State of Oklahoma must convey at least liability insurance. Proof of risk protection/insurance must be displayed after a mishap or when asked for by a law official. The numbers below are the minimum limits of liability that are required in the state of Oklahoma.
$25,000 substantial damage/bodily injury or demise of one individual
$50,000 bodily injury/substantial damage or death of two or more persons
$25,000 harm to the property of others
Remember that these are the minimum limits required to drive legally, if you need more than the minimum it would be a good idea to speak with your insurance agent to find out what other options are available to you based on your specific insurance needs.
Insuring a Teen in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has a Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL). GDL laws have been demonstrated to lessen fatalities, lower injuries and at last result in more secure expressways and roadways. New drivers who take an interest in the GDL framework must achieve different points of reference before they are permitted to graduate to a less prohibitive permit level and in the end get a full unhindered permit. The guidelines depicted beneath clarify how Oklahoma’s GDL framework functions. Teenage drivers in the State of Oklahoma may start to work on driving with a driving educator when they are 15 years old.
How to Obtain a Learners Permit in Oklahoma
The candidate must be at least 15½ years old to apply for a State of Oklahoma learner’s license. Candidates for the learner’s license must be presently selected in a state affirmed driver instruction course or have finished an endorsed driver training course. Teenage drivers that are 16 years old may get their learner’s permit without the driver instruction prerequisite. All candidates must finish a composed test and a drug screening. Intermediate drivers that get a learner’s grant may just drive while joined by an authorized driver that is at least 21 years old.
To get a State of Oklahoma Intermediate License the intermediate driver should have had held a learner’s grant for at least six months. it is necessary for the candidates who have had applied for the learner's permit to spent at least 50 hours with an adult licensed driver (licensed driver with to have the driving permit for at least two years) and out of these fifty hours 10 should have been spent on driving during night. Candidates for the transitional permit must have no traffic convictions on their driving record and more likely than not passed a driver abilities exam.
Moderate permit holders may just drive between the hours of 5:00 am to 11:00 pm with the exception of under the accompanying conditions:
• At the point when joined by an authorized driver who is at least 21 years old.
• Intermediate drivers that hold the permit may just drive with one traveler unless they are close relatives or they are joined by an authorized driver that is at least 21 years old.
Once your teen gets their learner's permit and follow the above requirements it's time to find the right insurance policy. Shopping for insurance can some times be expensive especially for younger drivers who have not obtained enough experience to prove that they are not a risk on the road.
Finding Cheap Insurance in Oklahoma
Looking for cheap insurance rates in Oklahoma could be tricky. Insurance rates in the state are quite expensive. Thus, there is a great competition of insurance coverage all over the place. The insurance rates will largely depend on the following:
Most companies will offer you cheap rates, but in return, they will compromise their service. Taking that into account would make your choice a total flop. To make it easier for you and to avoid regrets in the future, here are some important tips in finding cheap rates in Oklahoma.
Know the Basics
The state of Oklahoma has implemented rules for all drivers. As a driver, you must have an idea of all the basic driving rules in the state, which includes getting car insurance. Based on the Oklahoma Insurance Department, a driver must have the following inclusions on their auto insurance coverage: $25,000 for bodily injury per person per accident, $50,000 total for all people injured per accident and $25,000 for property damage per accident. If you neglect the rules, you’ll end up paying $250, get your license suspended or worse, be caught up in jail for a month.
Get Two or More Quotes
Compare the insurance rates from different companies by getting quotes. There are some companies that beat the competitor’s rates to attract the prospects. However, you need to be careful with this strategy. The more they lower their rates just to beat their competitor is a sign of utmost desperation. As a buyer, you should be cautious as to the genuineness of the insurer. There are some who are just good at sales, but when it comes to claims, they will be very hard to deal with.
Available of the Discounts
Some companies offer discounts just to make it more appealing to the buyer. It is a great marketing strategy for insurers and it is something you need to be aware of. These discounts may vary per company. However in general, you can avail of the discounts with regards to some basic insurance factors such as your age and location. The younger you are, the cheaper your insurance premium is. Further, if you are living in a crime-free residence, then you can have significant discounts for your insurance rates. Here is a list of common discounts that your insurance company should offer:
Make a Wise Decision
Getting a cheap insurance rate in Oklahoma is not an easy task. It needs careful deliberation of all choices because insurance will always be associated with risks. On the other side, insurance companies do offer you cheap coverage, but they are also strict when it comes to the approval of policies. They take into consideration a lot of detailed information about the driver such as its driving history and personal credit. So, you must make a wise decision in choosing the right insurer for you.
Registration in Oklahoma
Once you've found the best insurance rate for you and you're family you'll need to register your vehicle with the state. In the state of Oklahoma you will need to have an active insurance policy in order to register your vehicle. Here is what you'll need to know:
Every state has different rules and procedures for car registration however, what they all have in common is the requirement to register your vehicle, regardless whether it is new or a used one, not long after you’ve purchased it. Oklahoma is not an exception and failing to register your car promptly can lead to fines and even suspension of your license until the registration is completed. That is why it is extremely important to register your car as soon as possible and present the registration documents to the Oklahoma Tax Commission immediately after that.
Registration Laws in Oklahoma
According to the laws in Oklahoma, you have to register your car within 30 days of its purchase. Regardless whether you’ve bought a brand new or a used car, and you are a new resident of the state or not, you are required to register it before driving it. In Oklahoma, if you register your new vehicle for the first time, you have to do that in person at the Oklahoma Tax Commission. For your convenience, every subsequent registration renewal can be done online, mail, or you could still do it in person.
There is a set of documents you are must bring for your vehicle’s first registration and missing a single paper can delay the registration process. You must present proof that your car has at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by the state of Oklahoma. In addition, you need an application for Oklahoma Certificate of Title, or Form 701-6, that is completed and signed in front of a notary, the old title transferred over to you, a completed bill of sale, as well as three forms of government ID.
Just like in any other state, car registration in Oklahoma comes with a few fees you have to pay. There is title fee, as well as a fee for first registration and excise tax which is 3.25% of the purchase price of your car. For those who are renewing their registration, fees are significantly lower.
Car Insurance is a Must
Acquiring at least the minimum car insurance is extremely important, and registration cannot be completed without it. Any cheap and affordable car insurance is enough, but what insurance gives you is protection and peace of mind, so choosing the right insurance is really important. There are numerous things you should take into consideration when acquiring car insurance, but it is best if you contact a representative of a reliable insurance provider, and Cheapest Auto Insurance is amongst the most reputable and well-known insurance companies in Oklahoma.
Traffic Tickets in Oklahoma
Nowadays, it is fairly common to find traffic tickets on anyone around town. Oklahoma has witnessed an exponential rise in the number of people convicted for violating Oklahoma traffic laws. The Government follows a point chart system for defining the penalties and charges that are to be enforced on the convicted. These traffic points are increased or decreased by your history with the traffic rules. If you obey the rules, the points will get reduced, but if you are known to be somewhat clumsy while driving and don't take traffic rules seriously then get ready to pay because the next time you get cited, the results can be devastating.
Traffic violations are generally categorized in two ways, Moving Violations and Non-Moving Violations. Moving violations are those in which your vehicle is found to be in motion while breaking the rule. These are common on highways and roads with speed limitations.
The Non-Moving Violations are where your vehicle is found at rest while it violates the laws, such violations are common in small places with a crowd.
Some common Moving Violations that can lead to traffic tickets and trouble may include:
Over-Speeding: The most common cause of all the major accidents is speeding. Oklahoma registers a significant amount of tickets that only includes- over speeding as the soul cause.
Driving below the speed limit: On the contrary to over-speeding, you can also get a ticket for driving below the mentioned speed limit on some roads. Although this may seem illogical, there are many people who have been issued a ticket by this violation.
Driving through a red light: Saving time by driving through the red lights can brew trouble for you. The ticket for this violation will directly affect your traffic scoreboard and can cause severe penalties and charges.
DUI & DWI: Driving under the influence is DUI and driving while intoxicated is called DWI. These are serious offenses against the traffic rules. You can suffer high penalties or even jail time for committing such an offense.
Some of the non-Moving Violations are:
Parking illegally: It is most common in crowded areas that lack proper parking space. Although you may not know that the place you just parked in, is illegal for parking, you will definitely get fined.
Leaving a running vehicle unattended: Always know that you can get in trouble if you left your vehicle in the ignition mode. Doing this not only causes unnecessary pollution but can also lead to some serious incident.
Driving with expired license plates: Traffic police have all kinds of technology that will help them retrieve your information. If you get caught telling a lie, consequences will not be in your favor.
Avoiding Traffic Tickets
Saving yourselves for all the tickets and maintaining a clean traffic record is easy if you try to pay attention to the road and challenging if you do not do anything extra for saving yourselves from the hassle.
A clean traffic record can be maintained by getting a good amount of knowledge about the general traffic rules, remembering them when out in open and most important of all, following them all the time.
You can get a traffic rule book for your aid. However, reading from a book can be tedious, so we recommend that you get yourself enrolled in one of the many online traffic schools that can greatly help you reducing you traffic points and maintaining a clean traffic history.
If you have not followed the rules of the road and have found yourself with suspended driver's license there are still ways in Oklahoma to reinstate it.
Reinstating a Suspended Driver's License in Oklahoma
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS), has some strict rules for its drivers. These rules, if not followed by the drivers can lead to a temporary or even a permanent suspension of your driver's license.
Although scenarios where the someone’s driver’s license gets suspended permanently is rarely seen.
If you have got your license permanently disbanded, then chances are you would be putting your hand in an endless swamp.
The temporary suspension of your driver license may be the result of one of the following reasons.
Failing to notify the Oklahoma Public Safety Department, about any name or address change.
Committing any insurance law violation or having driving record points, above the safety level.
The DPS maintains a record of your traffic law violation instances. According to these, the department assigns a certain number of traffic points to you. Now it is not like – higher the number, the safer you are, but it is the exact opposite of this. The high scores of your Drivers License point mean that you have been continuously breaking the Oklahoma safety measures, which makes you a trouble of the DPS.
Reinstating your suspended Driver’s License:
Different procedures are to be followed for the different cause. The steps that are common for all the reasons are stated below. These steps are included for all the causes because of which you are reinstating the suspended license.
Firstly complete the mentioned time period for the temporary suspension.
Satisfy all the court documentations and pay all the pending fines and applicable court fees.
Pay all the DPS licensing processing and reinstatement fees applicable.
If your license is suspended because of any insurance law violation then follow the below steps beside the primary ones;
Keep all the documentation and a proof of your current insurance policy up to date.
There is an additional $350 fee for reinstating the suspended license.
For Oklahoma DUI Suspensions candidate:
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, organize a BAC test for this groups of people. If you fail or refuse to give the test when arrested on suspicion of the DUI or DWI, the DPS can revoke your driver’s license permanently.
To reinstatement, you license in such a case,
Firstly, pay all the reinstatement fees.
After clearing your payment issues, complete the Drug and Alcohol Assessment.
An ignition interlock device is necessary for you to install. The device can depend on the circumstances of your DUI or DWI offence.
Sometimes you also get a DUI court convention. The cases of getting a court convention decrease, if you cooperate with the Department staff.
If you get a court conviction, then you have to also satisfy all the court required documents and fee structures.
However, if you fail in fulfilling the court requirements, you can suffer from an increase in the license suspension period. The time period generally increased, depends on the number of the previous convictions that you are responsible for.
Not fulfilling the court needs can even put you in jail. It is highly recommended that court issues must be handled with utmost caution. The sentence time again depends on the number of previous convictions.
Driving in Severe Weather in Oklahoma
The state of Oklahoma is known for many great cultural things and family friendly activities, but it’s also known for sudden severe weather conditions. Tornados and hail are not uncommon in certain seasons and it is important to know how to drive correctly in all types of bad weather.
Before driving always check weather conditions and heed any warnings that are given. When your area issues a flood warning, they aren’t messing around. It means that many roads can become unsafe rather quick. It’s also not safe to drive when conditions are ripe for a tornado or your area is under a formal tornado watch. Tornadoes typically form during violent thunderstorms at times when the air is especially warm and humid. You can also get small or large sized hail during these types of storms which can not only make driving difficult but can cause significant damage to your car as well.
Tips For Tornadoes
Have you ever seen the movie Twister? It’s a classic, you should check it out. If you have seen it then you probably will remember the objects flying through the air, being thrown in every direction by the fearsome funnel cloud. Tornadoes can be tricky due to their unpredictability. You might not realize that tornadoes move super fast and erratically on land. They also pick things of all sizes up and throw them creating projectiles with miles of range.
If you see a tornado funnel cloud forming in the distance, change course and drive quickly to the nearest shelter. Take refuge in the nearest restaurant, gas station, or any other large building you can find. In the event there is not a close by shelter area, pull completely off the road. Avoid tunnels and underpasses. They might seem like a safe place to stay put but a tunnel can actually make wind conditions worse and be more dangerous than being out in the open.
What do you do if you are caught off guard and have to shelter in place? Pull your car into a ditch or other low point. You can stay in your car with your seatbelt fastened, duck your head and cover it with a blanket or coat if you have one available. Get weather updates on your car radio or cell phone. Do not try to drive again until the weather has completely cleared the area.
With the exceptional amount of rain in Oklahoma, most people could benefit from learning how to drive on water and when it is not safe to drive at all. These tips can keep you from getting in an accident or damaging your car. They can even save your life, so pay attention! Your local car insurance broker wants to help protect you, your family and your automobile from hazardous road conditions and bad weather.
Always take weather and road advisories seriously. They are not being overly cautious, road closings and blockades are there to protect you. A car can get washed away in just 6 inches of rushing water. If you can’t stand in it, you can’t drive in it.
Three reasons you shouldn’t drive in standing or rushing water:
The water can hide dips and obstacles in the road.
Too much water submersion can ruin your car engine or exhaust system.
You can lose control of the car or start floating in very little water.
You don’t always know when a bad storm is about to hit and you could find yourself driving in hazardous conditions in the blink of an eye. If you find yourself driving during a downpour or even a flash flood, here are some tips to help keep you safe.
When You Have To Drive Over Standing Or Moving Water:
Keep in mind that only a half an inch of water on a roadway can make it difficult to control your car. Drive very slowly and cautiously over the water.
The water is at its lowest point in the center of the road. All cars should narrow to one lane down the center of the road.
Drive only 2-4 miles an hour. Make sure to leave plenty of space between the cars.
If you can, turn around and take a less flooded road.
If you are in moving water and starting to float, open the car doors to let water in. This makes the car heavier and may restore balance.
If conditions become too unsafe, exit the vehicle if you can and move to higher ground. Your car can be replaced, your life cannot!
Once again, it is never a good idea to drive your car over rushing water or more than half an inch or so of standing water. Unless you are a stuntman in an action movie, just don’t do it! Check weather conditions before going out and pay attention to weather updates and road conditions around you.
New to Cheapest Auto Insurance?
There is a lot to take into consideration when trying to purchase auto insurance in the state of Oklahoma. No matter what your current license status is Cheapest Auto Insurance is here to help and make it as quick and easy as possible! Our agents are ready to help you find an insurance policy that fits your needs Call us at 918-744-5145 or for an online quote click here!